Please activate Javascript !

                                                         The    Ramayana   Epos

The Ramayana ( Sanskrit:Rāmāyaṇam) is an ancient Indian epic poem which narrates the struggle of the divine prince Rama to rescue his wife Sita from the demon king Ravana and Afterwards Rama's  return to Ayodhya to be crowned king.

The text consists of seven books : The problem with the oral tradition  is that more than 300 variants of the Ramayana are known.

1. Bala-Kanda, book of childhood

2. Ayodhya-Kanda (steps 7 and 8 of the universal path)

3. Aranya-Kanda

4. Kishkindha-Kanda

5. Sundara-Kanda

6. Yuddha-Kanda

7. Uttara-Kanda (later appended)

Books 1-6 are an allegory of step 1 - 15 of the universal path.

== Allegoric meaning ==

Bala-Kanda : Rama is the only one who can break Shiva's bow (universal path 6) and wins Sita as wife.

Sita symbolizes the transformed and awakened Kundalini, and therefore she is the most beautiful woman of her time - just like  Draupadi of the Pandavas in the Mahabharata.

Hanuman represents the developed human soul (tarotcard 10) - not the spiritual Jivatma.

The mountain Mahendra, from which Hanuman jumps across the sea, (which is equivalent  the red sea of the isrealites), represents the solar-phase of step 12. 

Rama examines Sita in the Yuddha-Kanda (at the end of the lunar phase of step 15.1 of the universal path) for purity (the result of the lunar phase), and he marries her at 15.2 (Venusphase). Together they are equivalent to the Rebis.

Rama stands here for the spiritual self.

In the appended  Uttara-Kanda Rama reaches enlightenment, and Sita returns to Bhudevi.

== Literature ==

== Weblinks ==